As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

As the majority of adults spend most of their time at work, being content with your career is a crucial part of a person’s health and happiness. This essay will first discuss which elements lead to job satisfaction, and it will then address the question of how likely it is that everyone can be happy with their career. The two most important things that lead to someone being satisfied at work are being treated with respect by managers and being compensated fairly. If your seniors respect you as a person and the work you do, you feel like you are valued. A fair salary and benefits are also important considerations because if you feel you are being underpaid, you will either resent your bosses or look for another job. These two factors topped a recent job satisfaction survey conducted by Monstercom, which found that 72% of people were pleased with their current role if their superiors regularly appreciated them. With regards to the question of happiness for all the workers, I think this is and always will be highly unlikely. The vast majority of people fail to reach their goals and end up working on a post that they don’t care about in return for a salary. This money is just enough to pay their living expenses, which often means that they are trapped in a cycle of disenchantment. For example, The Times recently reported that 89% of office workers would leave their jobs if they did not need the money. In conclusion, being satisfied with your trade or profession is an important part of one’s well-being, and respect from one’s colleagues along with fair pay can improve your level of happiness; however, occupational satisfaction of all workers is an unrealistic prospect.