Your city has decided to build a monument to honor a famous person in your country. Whom would you choose. Use reasons and specific examples to support your choice.

Definitely, a brilliant personality that comes to mind is Renato Russo, would be a good idea to build a monument of him in my city, for sure. He was much more than a singer, he was a poet, his songs were completely full of poems about love, peace, history, politics etc. He always used a lot of metaphors in his writing to convey his thoughts. His music caught on the entire country in a revolutionary era, called “ditadura militar”- that happened in Brazil in 70’s, at this time the country was on militaries command. It was an era marked by repression, people could not do what they wanted, there was not freedom expression. For example, television was controlled by militaries and could convey only the information previously approved by them. People were beaten daily because they do not agree with the decisions made by the government. It was a terrible time for the country. By the time, as it was on TV, the lyrics of the songs were also repressed because the singers were not able to composed lyrics about, homosexuality, racism, gender bias, politics or things like that. But, Renato Russo wrote a lot of lyrics about what was happening at the time, just by using metaphors. It was amazingly well done which even the governments employees did not know about what he was singing. But of course the people realized that and understood the meaning of the song. Also, Renato Russo added a lot of good thoughts for Brazilian literature. For example, when I was in high school in 2006, I remember that we discuss in a literature class three or four lyrics from Renato Russo, everyone in the class enjoyed this day. Even today his poems and lyrics are in the literature books and probably the new generation will know him. Unfortunately, he killed himself in 1996. But today yet, young people know his songs, there are a lot of covers of him that make concerts in the country, they are usually trying to imitate his incredible voice and performance on the stage by singing his amazing songs. For those reasons, I feel that will be so amazing represents Renato Russo in this monument, because everybody loves him. Certainly, people in country will want to come here to look closely and take pictures with the build.