Your city has decided to build a monument to honor a famous person in your country. Whom would you choose. Use reasons and specific examples to support your choice.

Some people believe that those who are committing cruel offending should be sentenced to gibbet; others, however, think that death penalty is inadmissible in this modern community. This essay will discuss both the positive and negative aspects of the capital punishment and the opinion will be provided. One prominent reason to advocate death penalty is that, crime rate would be radically reduced. It is irrefutable that countries which are implemented stringent rules have less crime rate. For instance, UAE has more than 40% of crime rate till 1996, but it has fallen to 5% after rigorous regulations are imposed. Besides, the prison maintenance expenses will be reduced significantly. Although prisoners are provided with minimal facilities in the jail, the government spends an exorbitantly high amount to maintain the criminals like food and health care services. Thus, by implementing capital punishment the fund can be better utilized for countries' development. There are considerable downsides associated with this rule. Firstly, it is believed by a few individuals that killing humans is unethical. Numerous NGO's and organizations such as Human Rights Commission advocate that the regime has no rights to kill people. Secondly, they should be given another chance to enlighten their mistakes. Evidently, many offenders have committed a crime due to the situation and can be provided a chance to correct themselves. To illustrate, an eminent actor Robert Downey Junior was indulged him in unscrupulous activities and arrested for consuming drugs. However, he realized his mistakes and became one of the prominent actors of the Hollywood. Hence, the authorities should consider providing rehabilitation for criminals. In conclusion, despite having numerous opportunities to recognize their mistakes such as rehab centres, the majority of offenders tend to commit crimes after the imprisonment period. Therefore, I opine that capital punishment should be imposed nationwide in order to mitigate the crime rate.