Developments in technology have brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems.

It is true that developing technology is a factor affect to the environment in today' s world. While many believe that living such a simple life could lessen environmental issues, I would argue that using technology to tackle these problems is a better choice. On the one hand, it is undeniable that living simply without using technology may have fewer impacts on the environment. From the agriculture perspective, farmers should use manual methods for planting instead of relying on the chemical technology. For example, in Vietnam, farmers usually use chemical fertilisers and weedkillers supporting the growth of crops. It may inflict damage on ecosystems such as wild plants or animals grow among crop. From the transportation perspective, emissions from vehicles on roads are one of the reasons cause air and noise pollutions. Therefore, people should commute using simple vehicles like the bicycle or public transport to reduce that pollutions. On the other hand, I firmly agree with the argument that technology plays a pivotal role in environmental protection. Firstly, the cleaner technology which uses renewable energy sources is applied to replace devices relying on fossil fuels such as cars buses and lorries. This not only utilises radically natural power but also reduce emissions fuels affect to the environment. Secondly, waste treatment systems, nowadays, are being integrated with many factories and other systems are built using technology to handle garbage from residential areas. In conclusion, although living simpler lives can certainly help in tackling the environmental problems due to its benefits, it seems to me that advances in technology provide many solutions and this trend will gather pace in future.