Developments in technology have brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems.

Few individuals are of view that history learning is pointless in relation to the dealings of society today while others are convinced that knowledge from the past provides sensible information to comprehend humanity's existence. Both sides of this argument will be placed under careful scrutiny in this essay and then further present my own viewpoint as to which holds more weight. To begin with, some in the general population believes that studying previous civilizations cannot offer significant benefits to the present day communities. This is probably due to their belief that it is unlikely that history can repeat itself, therefore past experiences will not bring lessons nor favourable opportunities in the modern world. For instance, the way of living during the ancient times can no longer be advantageous to anyone because we are already living in an era following a more sophisticated daily lifestyle. However, that insight can be considered superficial as history definitely offers substantial data that people can use to their advantage. On the other hand, I strongly agree with the perspective of some that history is vitally important to everyone. It provides us solid background about our culture of origin, and culture of others that we are less familiar with. Furthermore it creates cross cultural awareness and understanding which in turn allows us to understand our present. Like in the case when history is included in the curriculum that paves the way for the current generation to understand the experiences, challenges and success stories of people from the past, which in the end can lead to progress in the society. In that sense, learning history will always support better understanding of human nature. To summarize, I certainly acknowledge the viewpoint that fact-based historical recordings can serve as a crucial tool for people to comprehend about the life in the society.