Your character is strongly influenced by the place where you grew up. In what ways can growing up in a city or in the countryside influence one’s character? Please give your view.

It is usually said that the hometown of a person has a great influence on his or her character. Therefore, growing up in a city or in the countryside may help contribute to forming one’s character. Personally, I strongly agree with this idea. Being brought up in urban areas, for example, might make people more sophisticated. Big cities usually include various types of people from different places. As a result, townspeople are commonly exposed with a wide range of perspectives about lifestyles. In other words, they are immersed in a cross cultural society, which provides them a considerable amount of knowledge of other cultures. In the other hand, those who grow up in the countryside are usually more simple. They normally have an uncomplicated life with an unchanged routine. Consequently, rural people commonly feel changes are unnecessary and may even risky. They might prefer things to always be the way they know. Furthermore, they do not frequently interact with so many people. Normally those are just their families, relatives and neighbors, who seem to not have so extraordinary lifestyles than theirs. Therefore, the mindsets of rural people are likely to be limited in only some particular ways. Some other people may argue it is education that is the key factor in developing human character. However, I think this idea may not fully grasp the big picture. Generally, people are mostly influenced by the places where they are raised. In conclusion, I believe that whether a person grows up in urban or rural areas is likely to leave a big mark on his or her character. Therefore, it is extremely important for people to choose where to live since it is highly likely to have great effect on their characters.