It is sometimes said that borrowing money from a friend can harm or damage the friendship. Do you agree? Why or why not? Use specific reasons to explain your view.

Borrowing money is usually considered as an awkward situation. Some people even think that it might lead to the disruption of their beautiful relationships with their friends. However, I think this idea depends on how close the lender and the borrower are and the amount of money lent. First of all, whether borrowing money from friend cause harm to the relationship or not may depend on the level of companionship between them. If they are close friends, then they would always be willing to provide help to each other as long as it is within their abilities, including money. This seems to cause no harm to their beautiful friendship. However, if a person asks a casual friend, a classmate for example, for a loan, it may not be so easy. There might not be enough trust between them for borrowing money to the other. The friend may have a bad impression about the borrower. Moreover, the amount of money borrowed might also have an effect. In the case the loan is just a small one, say, the bill of a cup of coffee, it causes no damage to the relationship. In the other hand, if a friend borrow a person a big pile of cash, he or she is likely to have an unpleasant feeling. Then, their friendship may be put on the verge of ruin. Some others may argue that people should avoid borrowing their friends’ money to prevent the destruction of their friendships. However, I think that this is not a good idea since everyone might get some financial troubles in their lifetime. Then, they can ask for help from friends to overcome their problems, and try to return it as soon as possible. In conclusion, I believe borrowing money seems to not destroy a friendship as long as the friends are close and the loan is not too big. Moreover, if the debt is repaid on time, the relationship will still be good.