Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Today, there is a fact that a number of old buildings are being torn and replaced by new ones. Some people say this is a natural change since they need more and more structures for residential and business areas. However, I believe those constructions that contain history or scenery values should be preserved. Firstly, old buildings might reveal about historical events. Architecture commonly has a strong bond with history, therefore, telling us how life in the past was. Studying about an old construction, the descendants can spot out the characteristics of the time, the customs of their ancestors or find out the origins of their traditions. However, in some ways, visiting an ancient structure may bring a much deeper knowledge of the historical events it presents than words and pictures in books and studies. It is believed that the more knowledgeable about the past the people are, the more advanced the future’s world would become. Moreover, some of the old buildings are seen as featuring spots of an area. There are various cities or countries across the world being famous of its symbolic old buildings. When mentioning Egypt, the first thought comes to many people is that it is the land of the Pyramids. Or, when thinking of Paris, the Eiffel Tower is highly likely to be the most popular icon of the city, and even the country, France. These spots can attract a great amount of foreign people, contributing a big proportion in an area’s tourism development. In conclusion, I think that old buildings should be protected as much as possible if they still play some part in presenting a history time or contribute to the tourism of the area. The others might be knocked down.