Nowadays some people choose to live in the city while other chooses to stay in the countryside. What are the the advantages and disadvantages of city living over living in the countryside?

Nowadays, large cities are becoming more and more inhabited. People are increasingly choosing to live in urban areas because of some advantages it has compared with living in the countryside. However, despite of its benefits, it has also drawbacks. In this essay, I shall discuss the pros and cons of living in a large city. One of the benefits of urban living is more job opportunity. Companies, government agencies and factories are mostly situated in the city, and these establishments need employees in their operation. It is often the case that they offer employment to people who are living nearby. For instance, in Manila, the capital of the Philippines, 60 percent of the total national jobs are offered in the city and many individuals searching for job chooses to settle in this bustling concrete jungle. Another benefit of living in an urban area is the better quality of education when compared with the schools in the countryside. Schools have better education facilities such as latest computers and better laboratory equipments. They are also more updated with the latest technology that promotes better learning such as complete laboratory equipment than schools in the countryside. It can be seen that better employment and education can be obtained when living in the city. Although it is true that dwelling in the metropolis has various benefits, there are also disadvantages one of which is air pollution. Air is not clean as in the outskirts because of cars and factories pollutes the air by emitting carbon dioxide. This could cause illnesses like cough and colds among people. Another drawback of urban living is high criminality rate. Robbery, theft and murder are being committed because some individuals are economically challenged. In a recent survey conducted 65 percent of the crimes in Philippines happened in big cities. To conclude, although living in the city possesses benefits such as a job opportunity and better education, it has also its drawbacks like high crime rate and air pollution that is a health hazard. One should take a careful step and must consider these pros and cons before deciding whether to live in city or not.