young people spend their free time in shopping malls. This has a negative effect on young people and society.

Nowadays, shopping malls are considered major recreational spots by many, but people mostly visited them for necessity in the past. The young people are increasingly spending their free hour at the shopping mall rather than playing sports or music. Furthermore, this new trend has many negative impacts on youngsters and the society as a whole. Firstly, this essay agrees and believes that this is undoubtedly an inappropriate behaviour and misuse of leisure moment because it encourages them in excessive buying behaviour and can lead to isolation and may develop mental illness. One of the significant harm of this habit is, it provokes youngsters to buy products which they rarely need. Many shops in malls are usually displaying eye-catching pictures and mannequins to attract consumers, which persuade the youngster to make unnecessary purchases. For example, recent research by experts found that around 70% of young boys and girls spent their weekends in the clothing store. They found out, approximately 50% of them end up purchasing a new fashion trend like tops, dresses and bottoms and paid by their credit cards. Another disadvantage is, youngsters can quickly become withdrawn and isolated. When they start spending not only weekends, but weekdays free hour in the shopping centre; as a result, youngsters become less socialized, which negatively impact their physical and mental health. For instance, a study was conducted by the Indonesia University of Education revealed that adolescent with the habit of shopping spree has over 40% of incidence to develop depression later in life. To conclude, I agree that an increasing trend of spending leisure time in the shopping mall by younger generation not only excites them to waste their money, but also responsible for making them isolated and sick in the future.