young people spend their free time in shopping malls. This has a negative effect on young people and society.

The young people are increasingly spending their free time at the shopping mall rather than playing sports and music. This essay agrees that this is undoubtedly an inappropriate behavior and misuse of leisure time. That's because it encourages teenagers in excessive buying behavior and can lead to isolation and may develop mental illness. One of the significant harm of this habit is, it provokes youngsters to buy products which they rarely need. Many shops in malls are usually displaying eye-catching pictures and mannequins to attract consumers, which persuade the youngster to make unnecessary purchases. For example, recent research by the University of Alabama found that around 70% of young boys and girls spent their weekends in the Electronic market. They found out, approximately 50% of them ended up purchasing an expensive gadget like smartphones and laptops and paid electronically. Another disadvantage is, youngsters can quickly become withdrawn and isolated. Instead of going out for games, they started spending leisure time over weekdays and weekends in the shopping centres. As a result, youngsters become less socialized and more isolated, which negatively impacts their physical and mental health. For instance, a study was conducted by the British Medical Council revealed that adolescent with the habit of shopping spree has over 40% of incidence to develop depression later in life. In conclusion, I agree that an increasing trend of spending leisure time in the shopping mall by the young generation not only excites them to waste their money but also responsible for making them isolated and sick in the future.