Some people believe that time spent on electronic games can be valuable for children. Others believe this has negative effects on a child.

In the highly developed technological word, game industry has been growing dramatically, especially electronic games such as TV, video and computer games. While it is claimed by some people that these game bring children with certain benefits, others believe that gaming may be detrimental to them. The following essay analyzes both views and I firmly support for the idea that electronic games influence negatively on young generation. On the one hand, there are several reasons why it might be argued that electronic games have specific merits. The most widely acknowledged positive impact is that playing games promotes children’s cognitive skills regarding concentration, imagination and sympathy. A case in point is that when the young approach to such a game that is kind of helping others, they tend to show more empathy in their daily lives. In addition to that, electronic games are significantly beneficial for players’ mental health. To illustrate, games can entertain players and help them recharge their battery after school. Therefore, to some extent, it is worth for children spending time on electronic games. Despite the above arguments, I contend that electronic games have a detrimental impact on young generation. Firstly, the most concerning problem that these ones may adversely affect children’s physical health. That children glue their eyes in front of the screen playing game can pose the risk of obesity, heart attack and a certain form of cancers. Moreover, exposure to high video game violence is likely to have effect on behavior in children. As a result, they have a tendency to get aggressive manner whenever facing with a problem in real life. For instance, when they get into trouble with friends, they resort to violence to deal with their problem easily. In conclusion, while it is argued that electronic games bring their own merits, I still concur that they do harm the young and suppose that time spent on games should be controlled strictly.