Young people in the modern world seem to have more power and influence than any previous young generation. Why is this the case? What impact does it have on the relationship between old and young people?

Power and influence are important aspects of life that can affect how people communicate and react towards each other. Youth in the modern world seems to be more powerful and have more influence as compared to last young generation. This essay will discuss possible causes of this issue and its effects on the relationship between old and young individuals. Firstly, the modern world has introduced technology and internet, which allows use of social media as the main medium of communication. For instance, Facebook, What's App, Instagram, and Twitter applications and websites have provided platforms for people to voice out their opinion and stands on certain debatable issues. In the view of most of the internet users are youngsters, hence, they have more power to influence people and public. This situation has caused the youth to be more outspoken, which make them feel in power of the audience on-line and will indirectly influence the ideology and thinking of people. Although this could be a positive aspect in building confidence and credibility in youth, there are also consequences to it. The freedom to voice out opinions and express emotions via social media causes youth to forget the importance of choosing the right and descent words. Some of them uses inappropriate or rude terms on their on-line posts. Others may also announce their personal affairs and problems to public. When the problems relate to their parents or someone older than them, this may cause disruption in their relationship. This freedom of speech leads to loss of respect by the youngster towards older people and eventually may affect their communication and relations. To conclude, despite having a more powerful and influential young generation, we should educate them on the importance of proper and eligible communication in order to ensure the relationship between old and young is preserved.