You travel by bus every weekday morning, and you always use the same bus route. Recently the bus has not been reliable. It sometimes comes late and for the last few mornings it has not stopped when you hailed it. No change of schedule has been advertised.

To begin with, our lives in the modern world are all about social media and immense amount of exposure to the internet which has given rise to advertisements. While some people feel that advertisements tell about new products and might improve lives, I on the other hand, I believe that advertising encourages us to buy unnecessary goods and waste money. In this essay I will lay down some supporting points to my argument along with certain examples. Now a days there are a lot of products being sold through the television medium. For example, there are ten different commercials for even a bathing soap. Some say it moisturises while the other say it moisturises and make you look younger too. This gives rise for a lot of people to look up to these products for beauty and end up buying a lot of it. Little do they realize that the models are normal human beings hidden behind layers of harmful makeup. As a result, these expensive products bar their expiry date and eventually are thrown away and get wasted. For instance, people in the Japanese culture, they have adopted minimum usage, which means they only buy those products which they really need to live their lives. This practice is inherited in their kids, subsequently, each person starts valuing the needs of others. Hence, there are resources in abundance and no one sleeps hungry. Now imagine if people just go with the flow of buying products because their role model is advertising it, there will be waste and less commodities available for the poor. I therefore conclude by revisiting a plot of the movie 'Infinity War', wherein the negative character has a strong belief that we are a world of finite resources and rich are getting rich, poor are getting poorer. He then ends up killing half humanity to fit with the resources for everyone. So, it is important that people understand that we coexist with others humans along with species and everyone should have sufficed. Hence, yes advertisements encourage people to buy things that they really do not need.