An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with this situation?

In recent times, brain drain has become a global issue, especially in many developing countries around the world. In this essay, I will shed some light on the factors contributing to this problem and will also suggest some solutions for the same. It is evident that professionals are migrating from their own developing country to reside or work in a developed one; thereby, leading to two obvious outcomes: a decrease in professionals in the developing countries and a negative impact on these countries’ economy. The migration of experts from the poor country results in a brain drain. For instance, recent immigration report has claimed that plethora of doctors from India are applying for citizenship in USA and Canada; thus, India is facing a huge deficiency of expert doctors. Moreover, migration slows the growth rate of the developing country also. For example, if teachers leave their own country; schools may not be able to produce sharp students, which will ultimately affect the future growth of a country’s economy. There are a plethora of solutions to overcome the migration problem. Firstly, in order to stop the brain drain, the government should make the salary of professionals equivalent to what is being paid in developed countries. In fact, a recent study has concluded that hiking salary has helped in stopping professionals from moving to other countries. Another possible solution is to provide better jobs and infrastructure to citizens. To exemplify, nowadays, schools in India are adopting latest technology similar to other developed countries; consequently, it has created more jobs and teachers find teaching more interesting and fun. In conclusion, even though migration is a growing problem which leads to a decrease in the number of professionals and affect the economy’s growth, various means and methods such as providing high salary and suitable infrastructure are available which can prevent this from worsening.