An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with this situation?

Nowadays, a growing number of surgeons and teaching individuals, are migrating from under-developed to prosperous countries. This essay will discuss the negative effects of this situation, and also provide suggestions to reverse it. There are several ill-effects due to brain-drain in the home country. One of the main demerits associated with experts moving outside, is that there is lack of veterans in a particular field to train the next generations. For example, medical and student enthusiasts who want to learn from people who have expertise, are often left out with no choice but to learn from mediocre talents. Another disadvantage, is that the nation suffers from poor leadership. If talented people leave the region, then the remaining left mostly cannot drive the country towards a bright future. For instance, in several African countries still the problem of poverty and unemployment are very high, because the high achievers have already left the place and the nation suffers due to poor governance. Countries need to adopt certain effective strategies so as to not allow the professionals from exiting. One effective solution to this is raising the average salaries of certain professions in par with advanced countries. For instance, a study conducted by Harvard University revealed that 85 percent of the surgeons and academic instructors intended to stay in their home country, if they were provided the same salary as they would have been offered elsewhere. Another effective suggestion is to develop the infrastructure in schools and hospitals. For example, these workplaces need to be equipped with the latest gadgets and modern equipment for experts to work upon. To conclude, problems due to migration include a dearth of talents and poor guidance in the home country. Suggestions to reverse brain-drain include, higher wages and better infrastructure at the workplace.