Some people believe that the best way to run a business is within the family while others consider this a potential source of problems. Do the the advantages of a family business overweight disadvantages?

Managing one's own business is always a challenging task. Hence, some argue that in order to be successful, owners should get their families involved to run the companies. However, others believe that influence of the loved ones could lead to unnecessary complications. Personally, I think there are more drawback of this method than benefits. To begin with, sometimes it is quite difficult to maintain the discipline of a working environment if there are family members around. In a normal family situation everyone love and respect each other. As a result, they do not complain about small mistakes of others members. In other words they just forget about it. Imagine a business the allow silly mistakes to be happened by the management. Consequently, it could lead to lose valuable customers and profit for that company. Another negative outcome of this would be the bad influence of these actions on non-relative staff. Because, they might start using those bad examples as  excuses when they have done something wrong. On the other hand, this may encourage the conflicts within the family itself. If the business owner advises a relative regarding a business matter the person who receive, it might identify it as an insult to him or her, which eventually generate unwanted tension between them. For instance, in Sri Lanka there were a large sweets manufacture in the past, which owned by two brothers, because of a simple misunderstanding among them the company went down and they lost everything including their house. Therefore, asking family to join the operation of an organization could lead to unforeseen circumstances. In conclusion, it is always better to think twice before inviting relative to join one's business. Because it could encourage a sloppy work place and generate conflicts between the family members.