: Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive.

The debate for free health service is one that comes up every so often, with people arguing the plausibility of any state government maintaining such a system. I for one, am a proponent of free health service, even if it means it might not cover the latest medical treatments. The population of any state is made up of the very rich and the very poor. It is simple economics. Even in states with booming economies and impressive GDPs, there will always be people living below the average means. It is for these people that I argue for free health care. If there is no state-sponsored health service, what hope do these people have? In Nigeria for example, before the government introduced free community health centres in the 90s, the country had an infant mortality rate of 50%. Why? lack of basic healthcare for pregnant women; no birthing theatres, no blood banks, no post-natal care facility. The country was also heading for a population crisis because poor families did not have access to free birth control and family planning clinics. I am a beneficiary of free healthcare. When I was two years old, I fell ill and had to be taken to the hospital for treatment. My parents initially took me to a private clinic near our house. My condition necessitated that I undergo a blood transfusion. The private clinic required payment for this service, and it was an amount my family could not afford. We were then referred to the government clinic two towns away that was offering the service for free. I survived that illness because of the free clinic. Nigeria currently has a single-digit infant mortality rate. Children born to poor families, like me, have a better chance of survival because of the availability of free healthcare services. While I do accept that it is a difficult task to offer all medical treatments free of charge to the entire population, simply because it would be too expensive, I believe that at least basic healthcare for vunerable members of society i. e the infants, and the elderly, should be free in every country of the world.