(work with mistakes)Some people think that sport teaches children how to compete, while others believe that children learn team work.

Some aver that sport develops in progeny a desire to compete. At the same time, there are those who state that offspring are taught how to be team players. Below both prospects will be discussed in details and author’s opinion will be stated. On the one hand, sport embodies the idea of competition itself. In fact, almost all sports events are aimed to figure out who is the fastest, the strongest or the best at a particular activity, for instance, success of any country that takes part in Olympic Games is measured by a number of trophies and medals its athletes have won. Consequently, seeking victory is the main goal of sport that encourages children to rival each other. On the other hand, some state that taking part in sports activities teaches how to be a part of a team. In fact, there are many games such as football and baseball where groups of players compete with one another. Perhaps those players indeed learn how to cooperate but there is still a competition not only among teams but also among members of each teams as well because only the best of them will play and those who are less gifted, talented or competitive will spend their time on the bench. Moreover, closer look at any individualistic sport would reveal that there is almost no place for team effort. For instance, such kind of athletics as running assumes that there is only one champion and this implies that even members of the same athletic team are seeking the same prize. Thus, there is little room for working together. Therefore, although children could learn how to work in a team, this skill seems to have only secondary importance. In my opinion, children who participate in variety of sport activities are mainly taught how to protect their interests and how to achieve success, in other words, youngsters learn how to compete, and they are also told that sometimes in order to be first they need cooperate with others and this team work allows them to become the best. Thus, an understanding that competition and rivalry is essential for achieving success is acquired by children from taking part in sport.