Some people think that sport teaches children how to compete, while others believe that children learn teamwork.

It is argued whether doing sports activities helps children become competitive or develop teamwork sense of collaboration. I believe that sports teach them both things, and in this essay, it will be discussed why many sports stimulate the sense of competition or collaboration in children Sports competition is quite common, and people often enjoy it. Firstly, many sports are organised in hierarchic scales, telling people who are at the bottom ranks that they are not as good as those at the high levels. As a result, people who choose those sport such as martial arts or even football develop a sense of competition because by achieving high graded they will be proving your worth to themselves and their peers. A recent study revealed that 60% of school football players felt the highest satisfaction when they proved to be technically superior to other players. On the other hand, teamwork is fundamental to maintain a cheerful atmosphere and help a person progress. Children who play sports in a team or individually want to feel part of a group because it gives them a sense of purpose and they make them happier and more motivated. For example, if the team is constituted of 2 people, the teacher and the student, teamwork occurs, and only if there is collaboration between the parts progress can occur, cheering up the parts. For example, a recent survey has concluded people involved in sports activities were more 20% more likely to volunteer and therefore cooperate to help others. This was especially true for people who were involved in team sports such as volleyball or football. In conclusion, there is evidence that practising sport involves both competition and cooperation, even though some sports can be more based on competition or collaboration