With the rise of ebooks comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

E-learning is gaining popularity. It is thought by many that e-books will eventually replace paperback books while others do not agree with this view. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this development in detail. E-books are portable and lightweight and hence they are easy to carry around. Instead of carrying multiple bulky books, one e-book reader can carry thousands of e-books. Thus, they save lot of space in your home and office. Moreover, these are easily accessible anywhere. One can download and store them for later use. Students and employees can access learning material while travelling or even when they are at home. Better still, trees are not cut down to produce ebooks. Needless to say, their popularity is soaring. According to a survey conducted by Amazon, there is a 40% increase in the sale of ebooks over the last few years. However, there are some drawbacks associated with this development. Firstly, it requires a special device or computer to store and read e-books. Unlike traditional books, electronic books require an e-reader and a special charger to keep that device running. Poor people may not be able to afford them. Secondly, staring at a screen for long hours can cause eye strain. However, technology is developing and now many ebook readers have an electronic paper display that does not hurt the eyes. To conclude, the rising popularity of ebooks is certainly a positive trend because ebooks are environment friendly and convenient. They do have some downsides but they are likely to be addressed as technology develops.