Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be usefull in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether university students should study subjects of their own choices or should they be obliged to study career oriented technology and science major subjects is a widely debated issue. Some citizens reckon that students should have their freedom to study subjects which they are interested; whilst others accord that they have to be involved in major that will be very utilitarian in the future. Both of these views have arguments for and against them and this essay delves these views and expresses my opinion before drawing a reasonable conclusion. To embark upon, a university is the highest citadel for education in a country and it is considered the next adept generation who would lead the country. From these regards, the education and teaching policy of the university affect the whole nation. For example, some experts tend to say “the students at university level should be given certain freedom while picking majors they study in and there should not be any predefined syllabus”. They opine that forcing them to study some latest subjects for the future employment would make them become workers for offices, not leaders for the country, however, they also express that letting them study a wide range of subjects would make them far more knowledgeable and prepared to take challenges and this policy would inspire tertiary level students to follow their dream and not just blindly run for their career. Furthermore, society needs as many artists as there are as many scientists. Forcing university students to study only science and teach related subjects would create an imbalance in our society. On the flip side, the university authority must consider the consequences of letting students choose their subjects. For example, a recent study shows that predefined syllabus-bound a student study regularly and prepares for the exam while freedom to take any subject dramatically increases the number of dropout students. This is an alarming issue and this is why the university authority needs to think twice before implementing the policy. Furthermore, development of a nation, these days, highly depends on the technologically sound workforce and universities should yield such workforce for the country. From this perspective, it seems quite logical for universities to teach science related subjects to most of its students. To conclude, certain freedom while picking subjects in university level is extremely helpful for the overall development and knowledge enhancement of students. An absolute freedom would make the outcome worse.