In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem? *

Agriculture & the hunger The ideal reasons behind why agriculture and farming are practised is to satiate one’s hunger. However, still there are many numbers of less privileged people suffering because of hunger. In my vision if agriculture is thriving, hunger should have been disappeared. In this essay, we shall see the reasons behind why many people still suffer in hunger and how do we bridge the gap between agriculture and hunger. There is a façade that if a country is flourishing with vegetation and agriculture, the citizens of that country will have easy access to food. But, that is not happening everywhere. Let’s take the Brazil or the Argentina, where the farming and agriculture community work tirelessly to gain good dividends. Furthermore, the monsoon never plays any spoilsport. In spite of these ideal conditions, hunger still persists and the reason is skyrocketing prices of crops which led people to kill among themselves to rob money, as they had to fight to eat proper food. In these places there is an inflation wave that peaks at unimaginable extent that pushes the prices of crops along with the prices that are further elevated by the middle-level businessmen, who make the prices of essential food commodities as highly unaffordable to the layman. This inflation is caused by the government, which is not playing any concrete role to regulate the food prices. Uncontrollable and rampant corruption right from top level till the low level bureaucrats make, the less fortunate to endure in hunger. How do we fix it? Everything can be mitigated if there is a strong will. Let’s see the Vietnam and the South Korea, these countries also suffered a similar kind of anarchic governments in the past, where people stood up against these governments and have overthrown them. Such uprisings do wonders. Now, there is a complete transparency in bureaucracy. The prices of crops are not fluctuating right from prices of seeds till the food commodities reach the public distribution shops. This regulation has been made tenable only because the corruption has been controlled with an iron fist. Furthermore, the government should open community homes to ration the food items as free for people living below poverty lines so that they could get the basic commodities from these homes after showing their meagre finances. To conclude, it is very disheartening on seeing from the school going children, blue-collar workers, old people and all suffer from hunger because of high priced food. Therefore, food prices should always be under check such that it should be made affordable to everyone. Feeding food to hunger is a basic civil amenity that one could expect from the government. Let’s join hands to make a hunger free world