With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In this digital world, the introduction of e-books have had a great impact on the traditional way of reading such as paper books. Some intellectuals welcome this trend with a positive impact on the environment, whereas the others do not favour it. The merits and demerits of the above notion are derived in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the e-books brings many benefits to the people such as the environmentally friendly practices and an accessibly of unlimited reading materials. The conventional paper books have been replaced by e-books, which has declined the usage of papers and consequent reduction in the deforestation. For instance, the survey paper of the IIT Bombay reveals that the digitalisation of the books has declined the paper usage by 40% since 2005. Moreover, the e-books provide facilities for the reader to access thousands of books in just a single gadget. As a result, the reader has great accessibility and flexibility of their reading material. Thus, the evolution of e-books have changed the trends of reading dramatically. On the other hand, the paper books have its own importance in the public domain. Many readers find the paper book reading is not only convenient but also more effective than the e-books. The elder people could not read e-books constantly; they finds reading of e-books more stressful. Although, e-books are more easily accessible by readers, the many readers prefer the paper books at their first choice. Furthermore, many students prefer the paper books for their educational purposes due to ease in memorisation with it. For example, all the primary educational institutes provide conventional hard bound books for the betterment of their pupils. Hence, the traditional methods of reading have their own importance to the society. In conclusion, the digitization has great impact on reading methods of the human being. The soaring use of e-books will eliminate the major share of the paper books in our life. These practices are also beneficial to our planet, therefore the regime should promote it to the layman.