With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good forward step while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In this era of technological development, people opt for electronic books rather than traditional books. Some individuals take this as a positive change due to their availability and easier scanning capabilities; however, other believes that this trend has detrimental effects. On one hand, there are numerous advantages of reading via e-books in comparison with paper books. Firstly, e-books are available to individuals at any time. People find it cumbersome to carry bulky books, especially when they are commuting to some other place and can read from e-books with just few clicks. For instance, smartphone and other electronic equipment including portable laptops and palmtops have made it possible to study anywhere and anytime. Secondly, scanning for any information is less time consuming from electronically available material, for instance, rather searching from all pages of a document, one can simply press CTRL+ALT or can type in search bar available on web pages for finding any desired information using smartphones, thus making e-books more advantageous. On the other hand, declining paper books over electronic books has certain disadvantages too. The most alarming drawback is that reading and focusing on material from phones adversely affect the eye sight. To illustrate, rays emerging from screen of electronic instruments could be hazardous to eye retina resulting in visual impairments. Moreover, due to astronomical escalating cost of mobile phones and laptops, impoverished people could not afford to buy such costly accessories, making them unable to read using e-books. Take, for example, a poverty stricken individual could not afford to buy a phone of worth $20, 000, merely to take advantage of reading from internet. To conclude, availability and easier scanning makes e-books more valuable. However, visual impairments and inaccessibility to unprivileged cannot be ignored.