Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

Advertisements play a significant part in marketing goods to reach people faster, regardless of its application to the consumers, which increases the turnover of the product proportionally. I partly agree with this opinion as the commercials gain the attention of people with their whimsical nature. On the one hand, the publicity of the product assists the consumers to identify the alternatives available in the market which raises the sale. For instance, if a user wants to buy a shampoo, not only he is well-aware of the different brands producing it, but also familiar with the customized options like anti-dandruff, hair repair, and hair fall control within those brands to choose from. Moreover, advertising industries are perceived as a platform to build up competition between the manufactures which leads to a quality item under a reasonable price which in turn accelerates the purchase. Conversely, fanciful advertisements lure people into buying things that are not an essential need for them particularly kids' products, which also amounts to the growth in the sale of the products. In other words, children are attracted to the products presented with colourful pictures and animations tempting them to buy irrespective of its use. To exemplify, children argue with their parents to obtain a chocolate which is advertised by a cartoon or fictional character, although it does not add any nutritional value to their health. In conclusion, advertising does power the sale of product in some categories without any real needs. However, it is substantially beneficial to the consumers to make reasonable decisions to fulfil their actual requirements.