Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Automobile industry, from the start, came and dominated the field of transport; and, owning a car was considered a trait of being rich and wealthy. However, due to the competition among companies and decreased production cost, cars are being prominently purchased at a higher rate nowadays, consequently, resulting in a 'one big traffic jam' as we know it. The below essay illustrate briefly why the phenomenon has come to be. Without a doubt, automobiles on the road have risen over the past thirty years and their ownership has increased significantly because of the low prices and rising demand. This private, comfort and luxurious transport system has invited many buyers; but this cumulatively build up has resulted in more traffic on the streets. The Prime example being the New York city which becomes deadlocked after seven P. M because of the cars congested on the main highway and streets. To avoid this one major traffic jam, people tend to utilize public transport within the main city rather than bringing their car with them. Even though traffic buildup is the major drawback of increased car ownership, everyone still need a mode of transportation for reaching their work, home or any other destination. Inevitably, cars will dominate the roads, but I believe that the government has a responsibility in managing their numbers on it. The government's one chance of bringing down their count is to invest in the public transport sector as India did by building a monorail system for the laborers to travel in and out of the city. Firstly, building new inter-city bus systems and railroad system can, hopefully, decrease the building car troubles, and secondly, encouraging people to utilize this public transport system as well, for instance by levying taxes on private transport. it might prove to be a challenge for incumbent government but still will bring positive results. To sum it all up, cars, definitely, are going to be roads for a long time until an alternative is provided to the people. Even though, the government is trying their best to overcome the problem by building underpasses and expanding the road width, despite this, more effort are still needed. In the end, proper planning and timely execution is required by the government institutions to deal with the on-going surge in the automobile on the roads