With the rise in e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In recent years, the usage of e-books have risen in popularity over the alternative of paper books. While it is often thought from a positive perspective, some assume that as harmful. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks that result from such utilization. To begin with the positive, a crucial advantage that e-books are that they consume no raw material such as bamboo to produce one. This is because electronic books are stored as digital forms in the memory of the book readers and electronic devices; thus, no physical paper is required. In contrast, paper books promote the risk of bamboo extinction since papers are made with the use of bamboo, and mass production of it may encourage to bamboo deforestation. Besides reducing raw material consumption, e-books are also more space-friendly. As one small e-book reader can store thousands of e-books, they free out space for the bookshelves in the house. Nevertheless, electronic books do present some problems. For instance, to read the e-books, the device called e-books reader is required. Since e-books readers are very costly, it is no wonder that not everyone has the extra money to spend on those devices. Another significant disadvantage of the electronic form of the book is that readers should be familiar with cutting edge technology. Unlike with paper books, the technology utilized in the devices limits the accessibility of the e-books; thus, the elderly and other non-technical savvies may have limited access to the e-books. In conclusion, although e-books are beneficial in terms of reducing raw material consumption and saving space, it is important to consider that they can also be expensive and are arguably not as reader-friendly as paper books.