With the rapid advancement of communication technology such as smartphones, tablets and other mobile devices, some people believe that the disadvantagesoutweigh the advantages.

In the modern age, the advent and popularity of cutting-edge communication technology is often accompanied by major impacts on how people interact with one another, which induce a controversial debate of whether the benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. From my viewpoint, I advocate this idea. In the positive aspect, as powerful facilitator of communication, mobile devices have empowered people to conveniently keep in touch with friends and relatives eliminating distance barriers between communicators. For example, communication devices enable users to make a phone call, send messages, make phone calls and video call with others. In addition, thanks to the technological development of communication devices, people are connected not only nationwide but also in a global network. Interaction devices with Internet provides people abundance of opportunities to know people of diverse backgrounds and personalities. Compared to the past, human’s way of transmitting information and interaction has been revolutionized by cutting-edge communication technology. However, the negative side of this phenomenon should be paid more attention. Initially, there would be a high chance of people’s over-reliance on technology advancement of communication devices. This will cause the ineffectiveness in communication among individuals in real life when people are too engrossed in tablets or mobile phones. Moreover, most digital devices nowadays have games and appealing applications installed which can cause addiction to people when they cannot refrain from the virtual life on the screens. For example, in 2017 with the release of the game Pokémon Go, many casualties were recorded since people were unaware of surroundings while playing this game. In conclusion, the merits of communication technology are undeniable however, due to its negative influence on people’s interacting habit I believe drawbacks would eclipse the benefits.