With the rapid advancement of communication technology eg smartphones tablets and other mobile devices some people believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages

On the proliferation of technology, some people believe that the downsides of high-tech devices overshadow their benefits. While I accept that these bleeding-edge technologies could bring some drawbacks, I also believe that the role of them is pivotal. On the one hand, there are two primary reasons why this advancement could take a toll on our health and society. First, we would gradually no longer communicate directly with others if we become over-reliant on this technology, hence leading to an apathetic attitude in society. To illustrate, when entering a milk tea shop, it is noticeable to encounter groups of young people just staring at the smartphone screens devoid of interacting with each other. Second, several health problems can be attributable to the excessive use of this bleeding-edge technology. Backache, eyesight degradation or obesity is now on the rise since people, for an instant, nurture the habit of spending hours on digital platforms. On the other hand, it seems to me that new lines of mobile phones and tablets also bring about a handful of advantages. One evident strength is that the availability of smartphones has empowered people to conveniently keep in touch with friends and relatives regardless of geographic adversities, For example, my aunt in Canada could not return to Vietnam regularly due to hectic working hours, so she tends to utilize FaceTime to contact us if possible. Another positive aspect is that such technological development is a threshold of a new world where people are connected in a global network. Via social networking applications such as Facebook or Instagram, for example, people can mingle with others of divergent backgrounds, races, and ethnicities. In conclusion, while I recognize that the growth of communication technologies will be prone to entail several disadvantages, I also argue that these cutting-edge devices could be conducive to enriching our’s social lives.