With the rapid advancement of communication technology eg smart phones tablets and other mobile devices some people believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages

On the proliferation of technology, some people believe that the downsides of high-tech devices overshadow their benefits. While I accept that these bleeding-edge technologies tend to bring some drawbacks, I also believe that the role of them is pivotal. On the one hand, the repercussions of this advancement should be paid more attention to. First, we would gradually no longer communicate directly with others if we become over-reliant on this technology, hence leading to an apathetic attitude in society. To illustrate, when entering a milk tea shop, it is noticeable to encounter groups of young people just staring at the smartphone screens without interacting with each other. Second, several health problems can be ascribed to the excessive use of modern tools. Backache, eyesight degradation or obesity, for an instant, is now on the rise since people nurture the habit of spending hours on social networking applications such as Instagram or Facebook. On the other hand, it seems to me that there are certainly several values that new lines of mobile phones and tablets bring to users. One evident strength is that those are considered a powerful facilitator of communication. In fact, the presence of smartphones has helped people to conveniently keep in touch with friends and relatives because this technology eliminates geographical distance. Another positive aspect is that such technological development is a threshold of a new world where people are connected in a global network, which provides them with opportunities to meet people from divergent backgrounds and ethnicities. Compared to the past, modern people now could easily get to know people with only a small device such as a cell phone. In conclusion, although others believe that the growth of communication technologies brings several disadvantages, I also believe that these cutting-edge devices play an important role in our contemporary society.