Reasearch has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes is banned.

It is the fact that eating too much is as detrimental as smoking, so the government should prohibit food product ads as they do with cigarettes. While I accept this measure could be well-founded, I believe that it is unreasonable to forbid the advertisement of particular food products. On the one hand, it is widely believed that some particular food ads could indirectly put people’s health in jeopardy, like smoking. Via television channels, children normally watch food advertisements such as McDonald and KFC, these ads make them tempted to consume fast food instead of healthy food like vegetables. In the long-term, it is possible for children to be obese, because fast food is high in fat and starch. Additionally, attractive food advertisements can stimulate appetite spontaneously, causing symptoms of mental health. For example, my nephew would become aggressive and smash furniture if his mother does not buy junk food. On the other hand, I believe that there are some reasons why the authorities should not ban the advertising of certain food items. Firstly, many food manufacturers consider that advertisement is the most effective measure to approach potential customers and introduce their new products in the market. If their ads are imposed a ban, corporate profits would significantly drop, causing these companies to be on the brink of bankruptcy. Secondly, banning these ads is an obvious disadvantage for consumers because they could not be well-informed about the products they intend to purchase. Finally, eye-catching food advertisements might help those who suffer from anorexia consume more food. In conclusion, while I recognize that forbidding the advertising of specific foodstuffs would prevent health problems, I argue that imposing a ban on these ads is not appropriate.