There is a controversial view about whether group learning or independent learning is a better way to students’ study at school. In this essay I will examine both sides of the debate and give my opinion.

There is a controversial view about whether group learning or independent learning is a better way to students’ study at school. In this essay I will examine both sides of the debate and give my opinion. There are several good reasons why students should learn in a group. First, studying together can give students better understanding of what they are learning, as they can receive from other classmates different perspectives about the knowledge taught by teachers and absorb it in depth. Moreover, pupils can learn efficiently via studying with others. This study mode often requires learners to work with each other in order to complete tasks. For example, students on a team should read a few chapters of a book assigned by their professor without finishing the whole assignment. On the other hand, however, the merits of learning independently should not be ignored. For one thing, it helps students gain more knowledge. Unlike those who decide to learn collectively, they can begin their learning as quickly as possible without waiting until the time when others are ready, which means that they can spend more time on their study and learn more. For another, by leaning individually, pupils are able to focus on their study, since they can put all their efforts to solve problems rather than be disturbed by the discussion about the solutions to the issues with others. To summarize, there is no doubt that collective studying can allow students to learn from various aspects and with efficiency, while studying alone can make it possible for students to acquire more knowledge. Therefore, I can safely conclude that it is better for students to have cooperative learning than to engage in independent study.