With the increasing use of mobile phone and computer, the number of people who write letter has decreased. As a result, letter writing will disappear soon. How do you think letter writing is important?

The progress of technology has been transforming our life since the Industrial Revolution. Besides bringing us time-saving machines, inevitably lead to the extinction of traditional products. For example, it is worried that the letter writing will eventually disappear because of the popularity of mobile phones and computers. Many people, including me, express concerns for the possibility that technological communications tools replace traditional letter writing for the following reasons. For one thing, it is the truth that computers and cell phones surpass letters in terms of efficiency. Compared with the post mails, which usually take several days or even weeks to arrive at their destinations, e-mails or text messages can be sent and received almost instantaneously. In this fast-paced modern world, such time consuming ways of communication as letters will definitely lose their grounds and be out of the market soon. For another, as citizens can talk through phones and see each other via videos on line, these new means of communications stand out in facilitating people’s emotional exchange and reducing misunderstandings. In comparison, individuals who are not excellent writers will have to struggle in expressing their feelings correctly, which is actually a demanding task for the majority of people. The result is that their enthusiasm for this traditional mode of interaction is iced. In spite of this, it is hardly possible to deny the importance of letter writing. In present society, the hustle and bustle of city life deprives citizens of the leisurely and casual mood to enjoy life. They suffer from great pressure from life and work. Letter writing turns out to be an excellent way for them to slow down their pace and attempt to record the beauty of their surroundings. Instead of the cold words, people can have enough time to think about the best word expressions and imagine the warmth and surprise the letter can bring to the receivers. Besides, writing paper mails help us to refine our handwriting, which is more often than not extremely poor as a direct result of the wide application of computers. Also, it has been proved that frequent letter writing improves a person’s ability of concentration. All these culminate in better performance in our study and work. Therefore, it is obvious that the letter writing would perish should no action be taken to preserve it. It is hoped that the government can work out due measures to revive the conventional way of communications.