With the increased global demand for oil and gas undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources

The consumption of fuel has witnessed an exponential rise due to an ever-increasing population and an increase in industrial productions. This thirst to get more fuel to satisfy the demand has led some people to argue that the search for fuel should now extend to the undiscovered territories. I strongly disapprove of this idea and this essay will first discuss the drawbacks of such actions, secondly the alternative ways to meet the demand; followed by a reasoned conclusion. To begin with, the greed of humans to exploit nature to meet their requirements is not new. We have successfully destroyed the flora and fauna of most accessible parts of the world and now an urge to venture into areas that remained untouched is pernicious. The human’s activity to maraud the nature will not only disturb the tranquillity of these places but will also endanger its inhabitants. For instance, there has been a growing clamour, for oil and gas companies to discover natural reserves in Alaska and Greenland. These remote parts of the world are already fighting the adverse effects of global warming and now the human landing for oil will only make the situation grow grim whose adverse effects will be felt throughout the world. However, one cannot allow the reduction in the supply of oil and gas to derail the economies. Dealing with this requires governments to invest more in alternative sources of energy. Moreover, the supply of fossil fuel is limited and would not last a century. This lingering threat to the end of fuel supply has already triggered the search for alternative sources of energy. Consequently, many developed countries are already switching to biodegradable fuels. The need of the hour is to preserve nature while developing ways to replace the use of fossil fuel with clean sources of energy. To conclude, the exploitation of nature for human greed should stop. The landing of humans in these secluded areas would threaten the biodiversity of these places and would only deteriorate the ecological balance further. The time is ripe to search for alternatives for fuels before the last drop ends.