With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources.

The usage of certain fuels, oil and gas, is sky rocketing and some individuals believe that the untouched geographical areas should be explored to meet the demand of these fuels. I disagree that these hidden areas should be opened up to gain more resources to meet the increased usage. Because of these explorations, we might exploit the natural environment of these spots and also hinder our research needs for reusable energy. If we open up these undiscovered locations to find more fuel, we might destroy the natural environment of these places and this will lead to more environmental issues. With the search for oil and gas, we will have to start the desertification process, and this could lead to global warming. Recently, it was found that the weather of Sri Lanka has changed drastically compared to 10 years ago due to decreased number of trees. This process was attributed towards the new government initiative that was started to explore oil sources under the soil. This is one way that we will destruct our natural environment to meet the needs of humans. Currently, most of the researchers are interested in finding a recyclable energy for our consumption and this could be the best finding in the 21st century. If we explore more isolated areas in search for oil and if we were successful in finding such resources, scientists would not want to continue with their research. This would halt our progression in identifying a reusable energy that does not leave a stain in our environment. For example, my research supervisor was interested in finding a method to convert the heat of our vehicles into another form of energy that can be harnessed. With the new oil reserves being opened in Alberta, his funding was cut down and he is unable to continue with his activities. Therefore, it is important that we do not find these remote areas, so our new scientific research can flourish. In conclusion, we should not search for more remote areas with the intention of finding oil and gas as this could have negative repercussions. Environmental issues such as global warming and temporarily holding our research progression are some of these negative effects.