The widespread use if the Internet has given people access to information on a level never experienced before. How does this increase in the availability of information influence life in today's world?

In today' s modern world, it is not wrong to imply that information is power. Over the years, an influx of information from a myriad of sources has remarkably shaped the world as we know it now. A primary source of this information has been the Internet. Internet is defined as an inter connected network if computers all over world sharing and collaborating information. Thus, I would like to discuss a number of ways in which this flood of internet data has impacted our world. First, the internet acts as an instant library in modern times. People are constantly using searhc engines like Google, Bing and Yahoo to quelch their thirst for knowledge about a plethora of subjects. Students are particularly benefited by the wealth of data that is available over a wide range of topics readilly and conveniently. Moreover, most of this data is available at neglible costs as compared to hardbinded books and magazines. Therefore, this free flow of information has led to a consequent increase in inventions and innovations coming from all corners of the society. Second, information availability in terms of real time news and updates has led to a more informed society. Nowadays, people are more aware of their surroundings and in constant touch with their environment. For example, the recent protests about army brutality in Jammu and Kashmir, spread like wildfire and was the talk of the nation for an extended perios of time. Contrast this with the earlier times where such news went past the general public without any uproar. Thirdly, the concept of using information as a powerful resource has given rise to a culture of whistleblowers such as Edward Snowden and WikiLeaks founder Juliane Assange. Both these infamous personalities were ridiculed for their reckless use of information by revealing state and national secrets to the world. Thus, information may not always be beneficial to the people who hold it. Although, the freedom that today' s internet enjoys has its benefits, it definitely has its drawbacks. For instance, there are several reports of accidental leaks of sensitive information that may jeopardize important national projects. More and more people are venting their anger and opinions about anything and everything over the internet using sites such as Twitter, Facebook etc. In conclusion, I would like to emphasize the above points and state that information is capable of both changing and destroyingour world. In recent years, it has really emerged as an important field justifying both its study and promotion on a global level.