With the help of the Internet and television many people are becoming famous. Is this a positive or a negative trend?

Nowadays, a great number of young people are looking for a career in the entertainment sector, especially on the Internet through social media or on television. The reason behind this trend lies in the fact that in the modern times people do not have to pose any actual talent in order to become famous as everything can be enhanced with the use of modern technology. However, my opinion is that this is not a positive trend as there are numerous risks involved in this method. On one hand, this trend, like every other before it, will most likely not last for decades, and after it ends, it will leave behind many unemployed people who sacrificed their possible careers in order to chase the dream of becoming internet or TV sensations. Furthermore, those people will be hard to adapt back to the lifestyles they had before the fame. And this has happened many times before. For instance, rock and roll was the most popular music genre during the eight decades of the last century and many people prospered from engaging in it. Unfortunately, when the new dancers wave took turns the decade after, most of the rockers fall into oblivion and a large number of them ended up with drug addiction as they were unable to cope with the changes. On the other hand, instant celebrities might have a detrimental effect on the youth, as they promote completely different values from the ones their parents have tough them. Moreover, the content published on the Internet is nearly impossible to censor and, thus, parents have hardly any control over what their children are exposed to. For example, certain influences have gained their popularity by being vulgar and publishing explicit materials online and the ones who are exposed to it might think that they do not need education not the respect toward traditional or cultural values in order to become successful. To conclude, in modern times there is no more efficient nor effective way of gaining popularity that through the use of social networks or television mainly because it assures fast results without great sacrifices. Despite of that, there are many negative aspects of it such as the uncertain future for the ones directly involved in this industry as well as for the ones exposed to it.