With the help of internet and television many people are becoming famous. is it a positive and negative trend?

It is true that television and especially the internet have made it possible for an everyday person to become a celebrity much more easily in the past.  However, this phenomenon has also created a situation where this can lead to a regular, innocent person having their life devastated. Therefore, it seems that despite the positive aspects of this development, the negative effects are more apparent. One the one hand, the ability to become popular through digital media obviously leads to the opportunity to become rich and famous. In the past, this was controlled by film studio executives and record labels, but now a typical person can become a star simply by word of mouth. For example, many popular Youtube stars became famous and wealthy simply by their fans sharing their content and then things snowballed from there. On the other hand, the dark side of this ease of access to fame is that it can lead to infamy for a person who maybe did not do much to deserve it. For every example of a new star emerging from the internet or a TV talent show, there are myriad more instances of K-pop stars who have been harassed and had their lives ruined because of public scrutiny. Furthermore, this can arise when someone is completely innocent, such as in the case of online bullying, or even when someone seeks out attention but is ruthlessly mocked for trying to do something creative. Inclusion, an increase in the ability for people to express themselves and their creativity is a desirable thing in general. However, in reality the opportunity to become popular is also the opportunity to become popular for the wrong reasons.