Some people believe that, the best way to reduce crimes is to give longer prison sentences to those who commit crimes or any similar actions, while others believe that there are other ways that can be used in order to reduce this issue.

Some people believe that, the best way to reduce crimes is to give longer prison sentences to those who commit crimes or any similar actions, while others believe that there are other ways that can be used in order to reduce this issue. This essay will discuss both view and it will give my personal opinions. On the one hand, some people believe that, if it was given a life sentence to all criminals, there would be less crime on streets because a potential criminal would consider the risk to be in jail for the rest of his life before commit a crime. I partially agree with this statement as people become criminals due to lack of education, poverty and mental disturbs, no matter of what the consequences they will have after being taken by the police are. However, I believe that, a life sentence is essential for those who commit a crime because, it is not given any chance to repeat such actions in the future. On the other hand, some people believe that the development of social welfare system is the key to prevent crimes as poverty leads to crime. Firstly, they believe what governments should help poor people giving them an economic subsidy. Secondly, people believe that most of criminals have always had a mental disturbs and if a society had had the chance to cure them in the past, they would not have committed such crimes in the future. I agree with both statement as many people turn to crime due to poverty and mental disorders. In conclusion, I believe that, prevention is better than cure and it is the responsibility of governments to discourage criminal actions helping and educating their citizens since their young age. Nevertheless, for those who have already committed a crime it is essential to do not give them any chance to be released.