With easier access to the internet many students are turning to online sources to study instead of the library. State some of the problems caused by this and methods to address them.

Due to the advancement of technology, the majority of students switch to online studies rather than going to the library. This is because online learning seems to be more convenient. The main problem with this is that students can easily be distracted due to inadequate environment. However, a possible way to overcome this difficulty is libraries should be modernized. One obvious problem which arises from an online study is an easy distraction. To elucidate, students need an environment with peace and serenity to concentrate well on studies, undoubtedly, libraries provide such ambience. However, students who prefer online learning do not get such an atmosphere, so their concentration can distract effortlessly, resulting in low grades in the exam. For example, a recent report by the BBC News in April 2019 revealed that 25% of students who opt for online study instead of the library were not able to excel in studies and tend to be wasted a year or two by repeating the same class. One plausible way to solve this menace is the modernization of the library. To elaborate, libraries ought to provide computers, which incorporate websites with the relevant information and with a minimum subscription that are the fundamental requirements of students. If this condition is fulfilled by the libraries, it is evident children will come into the library to study rather than doing an online study at home. For example, in Canada, 40% of libraries have been modernized with the latest computers consisting of relevant information, resulting in excel in their studies. In conclusion, online study often enables children to get distracted easily. Only when libraries turn out to be fully modernized, will the problem be solved.