With an increasing overweight population some people think universities should make sport a compulsory module on all degree courses.

It is argued that tertiary schools should enforce sport classes officially as part of students’ curriculum in all specialties. This essay totally agrees with this statement because this will ensure that all students do physical exercises to remain fit and healthy. Also, this will revive students’ interest in playing sports on a regular basis. Putting into action a compulsory sport subjects at the third level of education forces all students to practice sports regularly. That is to say, some university specialties require students to spend a fair amount of time sitting behind computer screens doing research, or doing other educational activities. Thus spend less time, if not at all, in doing physical activities and gain weight at faster rate. However, by allocating time for sports, they will have the opportunity to cut down on their weight and remain healthy and fit. For example, the implementation of compulsory sport courses in Singapore significantly contributed in decreasing the rate of obesity amongst young adults. As well as that, when considering mandatory sport classes in tertiary school system, students may explore new interest in practicing sports beyond their studies. In other words, playing sports at university enables students to get into the habit of practicing sports regularly and may adopt a certain sport as a hobby. Therefore, going for a certain sport, such as swimming or playing tennis, will become a passion than just a way to lose weight. For instance, more than 60% of Manchester University students became fond of sports because it was an official module in the university. In conclusion, I firmly believe that putting into effect sports classes in tertiary schooling system will provide students them with an ideal opportunity to do physical exercises regularly and going in for sports may develop with them into an enjoyable habit