With an increasing overweight population some people think universities should make sport a compulsory module on all degree courses.

Many believe that college's should make physical activities a mandatory part of the curriculum, this is because, obesity is becoming a growing problem. I agree with this notion to some extent. This essay will discuss how university faciliates excersice, and how some majors are too busy to incorporate subjects such as sports. The dilemma of obesity can be tackled through university. This is where students spend 60% of their day. Therefore, a fraction of this time should be spent on sports. In addition to this, in order to reach the maximum capacity of learning, one must have a sound mental state, which comes through excercise. Furthermore, considering students are paying for these sports facilities as part of their education fees, they should use them. For example, in The University Of Argentina, in 2018, its attendee's where forced to take a class in football one hour per day. They were weighed before and after this system was put into place. Consequently, 70% of the team had lost 40% of their initial body weight. Overall, targeting college's for weight loss schemes has proven to be very effective. However, there are numerous reasons why integrating sports in Universities should not be an absolute imperative. Firstly, some people are immobile and handicapped, for this reason they cannot participate, it would be pointless to make them join in. Secondly, another collection of students are on scholarship in faculties such as Medicine, it would be reckless and unfair to force them to take time out of their studies. Thus, they do not have the time or energy. For instance, I am a practicing doctor in medical school, I do not have much time to do anything as my studies are very demanding and time consuming, being forced to do sports throughout my day would be draining and unneccessary. Undoubtedly, there are scenario's where one can simply not take part. In conclusion, while it is understandable that people would want to tackle the issue of obesity through essential sports classes because of its many benefits, it is not attainable nor realistic.