Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. with this? What role should traditions have in our lives?

It is argued that there must be room for innovations, rather than sticking to past traditions which can hamper progress. I disagree with it, which I will explain later on in this essay. Traditions must play a role of a mentor. I disagree with the notion slightly that we need to let go of past traditions in order to succeed, for the sake of innovations. I believe both can co-exist. For example; our national dress is Shalwar Qamees, in Pakistan, which is traditional. Nowadays, we can see many innovative dresses, but I love wearing my traditional dress, because I feel comfortable in it. It doesn't feel outdated. We can see different innovative dresses like shorts, jeans and T-shirts. Both can co-exist easily. Traditions must act like reminders for us. It must be like our mentors, showing us what we really are. For example; we may wear different clothings inside and outside Pakistan, but whenever we use Shalwar Qamees clothing, it reminds us that we are Pakistanis. It reminds us of our tradition, which we should proudly own. Innovations are the need of time in almost every generation, people just can't stick to one thing forever, but completely abandoning traditions will convert people into robots. I would like to give another example regarding social gatherings of people in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province of Pakistan. People over here have a tradition of family gatherings whenver they get a chance. People are more social compared many other countries in Europe and America. It would be innovative to reduce such gatherings, by talking via video calls instead, which will save people time as well, but it will damage the social fabric of a society. This is why both traditions and innovations must be taken on board. In conclusion, people must be traditionally innovative, rather than innovatively traditional.