With an increase in the number of privately owned vehicles, roads are becoming more congested. What measures could both government and individuals take to deal with this situation?

A rapid increment in private-owned vehicles has caused roads become more congested. If preventive measures are not applied in time, this might create difficult situation globally. As vehicles are now an inseparable part of human life, both government and individuals should inhabit some measures. Government plays a vital role in managing vehicles number and size of roads. The government can adopt measures like higher tax-rate, public awareness programmes and wider road construction to manage traffic and discourage the rapid growth in the private vehicles. Another solution to this problem is to encourage people to use public transportation by carefully managing routes. Also, small public vehicles can be replaced by bigger vehicles and cost of using public transportation should be remarkably lower than using private vehicles. Finally, implementing more effective traffic rules can have marked positive result in both minimising the growth rate of private-owned vehicles and managing traffic problems. Along with the government, individuals also play an important role in this context. The preventive solution that an individual can apply is to minimise the use of private-owned vehicles when not necessary. People should use public transportation services as it reduces the problem of road congestion and use of fuel as well. Encouraging friends, family and neighbours to use private-owned vehicles only when necessary can be another effective measure as well. Individuals should follow traffic rules strictly and encourage the government to adopt effective solutions. In conclusion, government and public both should be responsible and inhabit necessary practices. The problem can be tackled only if both sides act in their part.