Why local people do not visit the historical site and museums. Discuss the reasons and give a solution to this problem.

Heritage is the most treasured element of any society yet these ancient monuments are not visited by local people. The absence of local footfalls on such sites is because of the lack of curiosity to visit these places. However, the organisation of events at such places can encourage people to visit these sites often. Lack of curiosity in people to see these buildings is one of the reasons for less local people visiting these places. Since these people grow up in the vicinity of these buildings, they already know all the details and historical significance around them which kills their curiosity to have a closer look at these sites. For example, the Taj Mahal in India also referred to as the world's seventh wonder has 90 per cent of foreign visitors each year whereas 60 per cent of people from this country has not visited this place yet. Evidently, this reason explains the fewer footfalls of local people on historical sites and museums. In order to encourage more local people to visit such sites, the authorities should organize lucrative events at these places. The government should advertise these places to locals by holding important public gatherings and other activities of social importance. To illustrate, the Red Fort in the capital of India is one of its major historical structure where the Republic Day parade is held annually attracting locals in huge numbers to attend this celebration. Therefore, the government has a key role to play in keeping the importance of their heritage alive. In conclusion, lack of interest keep people away from visiting their local ancient buildings and museums however, organising special events can lure people towards these places. Heritage is something that should be respected and people should be made aware of its importance.