Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than local people. Why does this happen? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

Museums and historical monuments help us to connect with the past. While many foreign tourists visit these places to know about the culture of that area, local people rarely visit them. The main problem is the lack of promotion and maintenance of these historical sites. However, if the government takes proper action, the popularity of historical places can be increased among the locals. The tourists visit the historical sites and museums of other places because they are curious to know about the ethnic origin of those places. However, these historical places are losing their importance among locals due to the lack of interest in exploring them. In other words, they know about their indigenous cultures from their ancestors. Besides, there are many cultural books and online forums, which provide abundant information about their local history. Hence, these people lose their interest in going to these historical sites, especially if they are in dilapidated conditions. However, the situation can be improved by following a few simple steps. First, the government should advertise the value of the museums and historical places through the local satellite channels. Additionally, more archeological artifacts should be kept and promoted in different media to entice the native people. Second, the government should utilize some of the funds for refurbishing historical places and maintaining the museums. These methods can certainly build curiosity among these people up to some extent. To recapitulate, few local people are visiting heritage sites and museums because the government does not promote them among the locals. Nevertheless, this situation is still not out of hand and the interest of the native people can be developed through various promotional techniques and appropriate maintenance.