Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than local people. Why is this? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

The museum and ancient places are nowadays considered as a place of interest to attract the tourists from various countries. Having said that, those places are less popular among the local people than the foreigner. This essay will discuss the reasons for this trend and provide the potential measures that can be taken to increase the popularity among the local people. On the one hand, there are many causes that have been led to this pattern. One of the glaring reasons is that lack of awareness among the residents of the country regarding these kinds of historical places. In other words, people do not aware that where is it and how it is linked with their culture, tradition, belief and morals. As a result, they have been giving a less attention to this compared to other tourist places such as beaches, waterfall, and a wildlife park. Another reason would be the attitude of the people towards the history. This means that people do not really take its history as a serious subject in their life because they think that nothing would gain by visiting such places and learning about it, thus declining their visit. It is required that these places have to be looked by the local residents to learn about their past and find out how that past shapes their present society now. Therefore, the government should take the initiatives to promote these types of places among their citizens. One of the ways that they may do this by distributing the free pass to the families of government employees in nationwide, which would gradually increase the visibility about the ancient places. Another possible strategy is making these kinds of places more interesting rather than portraying as an educational center. This would probably attract the wide range of audiences. In conclusion, it is certainly true that the historical places are more famous among the international travelers than the local inhabitants due to the various reasons. However, this trend needs to be changed by taking adequate measures for the betterment of the future generation.