Whoever controls the media also controls opinions and attitudes of the people and there is a little can be done to rectify this.

Advances made in the medical field act as a boon to mankind. Because of which people are living disease free with falling death rates. This essay deals about the positive outcomes resulted from an enhanced health care as well as the challenges associated with it. To begin with, since 40 years a number of endemic diseases have been controlled and eliminated. Thanks to the development made in the medical industry, which quelled the life threatening diseases that caused early deaths. Furthermore, the average life span of a healthy individual has been increased till 70 years, because of the effective immunisation and vaccination programs that are administered since about age 3. Moreover, the pharmaceutical companies have begun producing the life- saving drugs at affordable prices, which ultimately benefits the marginalised sections of the society. For instance, the infant mortality rate was higher in 1950s because of lack of vaccination against diseases such as smallpox and cholera. On the contrary, the situation has been greatly improved now. As a coin has both sides, there are a quite number of challenges associated with the advanced health care. First, the government has to bear the medical expenses incurred by the senior citizens as well as the people living below the poverty line. This would in turn result in a cascading effect, as the government needs to provide pensions to the retired senior citizens till their death. Therefore, longer the life expectancy of senior citizens results in longer their duration to claim monetary benefits from the government. This would ultimately tax the government’s fiscal reserves. Moreover, if the government does not have sufficient funds then it will not be able to buy some of the potential drugs to treat diseases like cancer and diabetes in the government owned hospitals. This would spell a doom’s day on the impoverished people from accessing the basic medical needs. In conclusion, as far as my views are concerned, healthcare is a basic civil amenity which everyone deserves to get from the government. Without these medical benefits, human life would be pushed towards stone age. Therefore, the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages.