Whoever controls the media also controls opinions and attitudes of the people and there is little can be done to rectify this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often claimed that public sentiments are being governed by mass media and its holders, limiting ways to correct this. I completely agree with the above statement because of the ultimate power of any organization such as government, and the media censoring the real information due to political influence. To begin with, government has incredible power to control mainstream media along with the views of people. That is to say, not only government uses the media in getting the message delivered to the public but also portraying the idea in the best interests of the public. Let us suppose that government has decided that members of the society should wear identity cards to keep a track of who does what and where they are doing. In this case, government could use media machine to convince and force the majority of the population and the objectors of the idea to agree that the usage of identity cards is of greater benefit for the public considering security reasons, irrespective of the long term agenda of the government. Had the government directly approached the public, there might be strong resistance and public criticism and therefore, by keeping media as a mediator, it can influence the attitudes of people, thus leaving no remedy for them to revert back with action. Additionally, media houses often willingly censor real information because the owners of the media houses are members of the political elite themselves and therefore, they share the goals and outcomes of those leaders. Profits ranks higher than truth telling with these owners and therefore the news editors are forced to rectify, omit and broadcast information which might contain false and biased content, which the public could be forced to believe, thereby lacking alternatives to do something about it than solely believing on the delivered content. In conclusion, owing to the strong power of the government in using media along with the influence of political parties which enable journalists to censor real content, it can be firmly agreed that the organizations which exert control on media have the capability to impact the opinions of people.